Twisted Lives by Mel Sherratt @writermels #bookreview #twistedlives #publicationday

🍾🍾🍾 HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO MEL SHERRATT 🍾🍾🍾 Yes the latest Allie Shenton instalment Twisted Lives is out today!!

Massive thank you to Mel Sherratt for my advanced e-copy of Twisted Lives. I also preordered a copy for my kindle.

The Blurb

Honour among thieves. Keep your enemies close. Loyalty is everything.

When DI Allie Shenton is called out to a murder suicide, it quickly becomes clear that it’s a double slaying, and there is a killer on the loose. The bodies are found in a property owned by local entrepreneur/drug dealer Kenny Webb. Several young women are staying there, they are refusing to talk and one of them is missing.

While she waits on forensic evidence, Allie decides to do what she does best. She takes to the community to see who will talk. Right now, she’s the only one who can get answers. But then a third murder rattles everyone. Another known dealer is taken out.

With lives and lies being twisted, Allie needs to work out how everything is connected. It’s clear someone is out to finish things. Can she and her team rid the streets of Kenny Webb and his gang of merrymen, once and for all? And in doing so, stop the top man, Terry Ryder, from getting out of prison?

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull.

Twisted Lives is the sixth book in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million selling British author, Mel Sherratt, is perfect for fans of Helen Durrant, DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

What Did I Think?

Someone has done the world a favour and bumped off a nasty piece of work! Surely that’s not a crime?! Well it wasn’t just the one dead body, there was a second and a young woman is missing. Can Allie and the team solve the case, especially when the recently deceased scrot is heavily involved with the local untouchable crime lord?!

I love the way Sherratt moves the narrative around her characters – it adds that extra something. Hearing Andrew’s voice after the past few books was so good. He’s a vulnerable young man who’s been taken advantage of so for him to get more of a voice told another side to events.

Allie and the team‘s dynamic is brilliant, they all bring something to the table and are all so supportive of each other. Seeing Allie’s personal journey was tense but also heartwarming; I love this character and seeing how her life has changed (for the better) over the series is marvellous.

Twisted Lives is a hard hitting gritty police procedural. I flew through the pages desperate to know who killed Davy and Chantelle and where Janey was. The way Sherratt intertwines the different threads and voices of the story is first-rate. And oh that ending, that final chapter… I need Book 7!!!!

Who Is Mel Sherratt?

Home is where the hurt is…

Okay, I know I don’t look all dark and moody like most crime writers appear in their images but I do like to be different…

So what do I write? Actually, it’s what don’tI write. I have published seventeen novels so far: police procedurals, psychological thrillers and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit, as I call it. And then there is my pink side – writing as Marcie Steele. I have written five books as Marcie.  All my novels take you to the heart of the story.

Since 2012, all my books have become bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10, with several in the top 3, and many international bestsellers too.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books.

I’m not sure which I’m most proud of – being on the list of Stoke-on-Trent’s top 100 most influential people for four years, or after twelve years of rejection, selling over 1.8 million books. 

Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Mandasue Heller, LJ Ross, Ian Rankin, JD Kirk and Lisa Jewell.

I regularly appear at festivals, conferences and events across the country – my favourites being London Book Fair and Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate.

So that’s me in a nutshell. Thanks for coming to my website. Don’t forget to sign up to my monthly newsletter and follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

Advertisement

1 thought on “Twisted Lives by Mel Sherratt @writermels #bookreview #twistedlives #publicationday

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays (2nd November 2022)! What are you reading this week? #WWWWednesdays | A Knight's Reads

Comments are closed.