Dying Breath by Liz Mistry @LizMistryAuthor @HQStories @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview

🎉🎉🎉 HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO LIZ MISTRY 🎉🎉🎉 Dying Breath, the fifth Nikki Parekh thriller is out today and I’m thrilled to be helping kick off the blog tour!

My thanks to Rachel Gilbey of Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the blog tour and to HQ Digital for my advanced e-copy of Dying Breath which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

The killer is closing in… can she find him before he finds her?

When Detective Nikki Parekh receives a set of threatening postcards, she knows it can only mean one thing… The man who escaped arrest after murdering her mother two years ago is back.

Each postcard has a similar message: You’re next Parekh.

As the post marks on the cards gradually get closer to Bradford, Nikki must do everything she can to protect her family and catch the killer before it’s too late.

But when human remains are found in a remote barn on the icy Yorkshire moors, Nikki’s attention is pulled away from her family. When a tattoo on the victim’s arm – the only means of identification – leads nowhere, the team have already met a dead end.

Will the team be able to make a breakthrough before someone else gets hurt, and can Nikki finally get justice for her mother’s tragic death?

Don’t miss the next utterly gripping crime thriller from the Queen of Northern Noir! Fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and JD Kirk will love this nail-biting read.

What Did I Think?

Liz Mistry, what the hell have I just read?!?! I feel chilled to the bone!!! And not because we’ve not got the heating on!!! Dying Breath is a shockingly dark and twisted read!!! It gave me goosebumps and I loved it!!!!!!!!!!

Nikki is faced with a double header of a monstrous time – a fingerless body-less arm (I did chuckle at the name this body part was given) and the threatening postcards from the one who took one of the most precious people from our Yorkshire detective. What a real life pair of night-terrors to face!!!

I loved the perspective jumping Mistry put me through. Going from Nikki to headstrong rebellious Charlie and then Jacko. Despite Jacko sitting on the criminal side of the story, he seemed a slightly reluctant participant in a number of matters with Fugly having him (and his other “employees”) over a slight barrel of fear and intimidation.

But oh Fugly! What a nasty piece of work. A man ruling by tyranny. Is he all mouth and not trousers ? I wouldn’t like to test the idea given the line of work he’s developing which makes me feel sick. This man gave me the heebie jeebies!!!

Dying Breath is a seriously dark crime thriller that is not for the faint hearted. Mistry has pulled together so many horrific ideas to create such a dastardly investigation for Nikki. despite wincing at various points throughout, I was hooked from the off and I didn’t want to put it down though the real world and my sleepy eyelids enforced it at times! Blooming brilliant!!

Who Is Liz Mistry?

Born in Scotland, Made in Bradford sums up Liz Mistry’s life. Over thirty years ago she moved from a small village in West Lothian to Yorkshire to get her teaching degree. Once here, Liz fell in love with three things; curries, the rich cultural diversity of the city … and her Indian husband (not necessarily in this order). Now thirty years, three children, two cats and a huge extended family later, Liz uses her experiences of living and working in the inner city to flavour her writing. Her gritty crime fiction police procedural novels set in Bradford embrace the city she describes as ‘Warm, Rich and Fearless’ whilst exploring the darkness that lurks beneath.

Struggling with severe clinical depression and anxiety for a large number of years, Liz often includes mental health themes in her writing. She credits the MA in Creative Writing she took at Leeds Trinity University with helping her find a way of using her writing to navigate her ongoing mental health struggles. Being a debut novelist in her fifties was something Liz had only dreamed of and she counts herself lucky, whilst pinching herself regularly to make sure it’s all real. One of the nicest things about being a published author is chatting with and responding to readers’ feedback and Liz regularly does events at local libraries, universities, literature festivals and open mics. She also teaches creative writing too.  Liz has completed a PhD in Creative Writing on Diverse voices in crime fiction

In her spare time, Liz loves pub quizzes (although she admits to being rubbish at them), dancing (she does a mean jig to Proud Mary – her opinion, not ratified by her family), visiting the varied Yorkshire landscape, with Robin Hoods Bay being one of her favourite coastal destinations, listening to music, reading and blogging about all things crime fiction on her blog, The Crime Warp. 

Social Media Links

Twitter: @LizMistryAuthor Facebook: @LizMistryBooks Website: lizmistry.com

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “Dying Breath by Liz Mistry @LizMistryAuthor @HQStories @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview

Comments are closed.