The Trial by S.R.Masters @SRMastersAuthor @0neMoreChapter_ #bookreview #TheTrial

πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO S. R. MASTERS πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ The Trial is out today!! Yes it’s a second publication day review this Thursday!

Many thanks to One More Chapter for my advanced e-copy of The Trial which I received through Netgalley. I also preordered a copy which zapped itself onto my Kindle in the wee small hours!

The Blurb

Would you sign up to a medical trial if you didn’t know the possible side effects?

18-40? PAID CLINICAL TRIAL IN THE CANARY ISLANDS – UP TO Β£20,000 TAX FREE 

It seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. An all-inclusive luxury trip abroad, all you need to do is take a pill every day and keep a diary.

Except you don’t know anything about the drug or what its side effects might be.

The headaches start, a dull ache at first. Every day worse than the last.

Then a body is found.

Everyone is a suspect. Anyone could be a killer. Even you . . .

2022’s biggest locked-room thriller, for fans of Alex Michaelides, T. M. Logan and JP Delaney

What Did I Think?

What’s that? Β£20 grand tax free? An all-expenses-paid holiday in the sun? Just for going through a month’s medical trial? My interest was piqued from the off! Medical trials are all regulated so what could possibly go wrong?! How stupid could I be πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I really liked Elle, my kinda main lead character. She’s very likeable despite her drunken deceit to get on the trial. But the end justified the means, a month away from her parasite mother. And god I despised her mother!

I felt totally unnerved as this fast paced thriller gathered pace. I could see how the individual characters were changing over the course of their trial. Was my likeable Elle changing and her narration just a false account of the reality or was what she was telling the sheer horrific events of this four weeks in Spanish paradise?

Master has created the right cast of characters to play out this intricate tense thriller under the sun. I read with my hand covering my mouth as events gradually climaxed to an auspicious conclusion. The question is – would you take the trial? I’m not sure I would!

Who Is S.R. Masters?

S R Masters grew up around Birmingham in the UK. After studying Philosophy at Cambridge University, he worked in public health. He currently lives in Oxford with his wife and children.

His short fiction and novels have been published internationally. The Trial is his first novel with HarperCollins.

2 thoughts on “The Trial by S.R.Masters @SRMastersAuthor @0neMoreChapter_ #bookreview #TheTrial

Comments are closed.