Hidden Secrets by Mel Sherratt @writermels #publicationday #bookreview #allieshenton #hiddensecrets

πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚ HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO MEL SHERRATT πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚ Yes the fifth Allie Shenton book Hidden Secrets is out today!!!

Massive thank you to Mel for my advanced e-copy of Hidden Secrets. But as if by magic, my preorder appeared on my kindle when I was fast asleep (I hope) in the early hours of this morning.

The Blurb

One of them lied. One of them died. One of them is next.

Could you stay quiet about a murder?

Killed on his way home from a night out, Kit Harper had lots of secrets. At the opposite end of the city, another man is found smothered in his bed. Jack Carter had secrets too.

A photo of a young woman reveals a clue and with dual cases to run, Detective Allie Shenton and her team are pushed to their limits. As attacks on a close group of friends continue, a link to a cold case twenty years ago is unveiled.

Can Allie figure out who is telling the truth about what happened on that fateful night? And who is lying through their teeth, to get away with murder?

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull.

Hidden Secrets is the fifth novel in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million selling British author, Mel Sherratt, and perfect for fans of Helen Durrant, DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

What Did I Think?

What a complex set of cases for Allie and the team. The brutal murder of a well liked young man and the equally brutal suffocation of a drunk with let’s say mixed reviews. Are they connected or is it just a case of a murderous night in Stoke? Both equally plausible right?! No offence Stoke!

Allie is up against it when the group at the centre of the first murder have nothing. No apparent reason for young Kit to have his life ended in his prime. But behind the police interrogational cordon, there is more than meets the eye!!

I loved the format of the story, switching from Allie’s investigation, to one of the close knit group of friends before switching to events from previous months featuring our first murder victim! This kept me on my toes, unable to pinpoint a motive or a suspect. I’ll admit I thought I had it sussed but only for a brief while before another attack played out before me.

Sherratt has crafted a tense police procedural, intricately twisting different perspectives and timelines to keep me engrossed and intrigued. I love visiting Stoke and the investigations Allie is involved in and this one is top notch. Sherratt had me glued to my kindle peeling back the investigative layers before she walloped me with the almighty conclusion!! Loved it!

Who Is Mel Sherratt?

I write dark fiction with an emotional pull. My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas – fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in The Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Ian Rankin, Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh.

To date, I’ve sold 1.8 million books. All eighteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 100, and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.

My latest book, BROKEN PROMISES, is book four in the DETECTIVE ALLIE SHENTON SERIES. These books are part police procedural/part crime thriller. There have been three novels for years, the last one published in 2015, but recently I decided to add to the series. There will be more to come this year.

There are four books in THE ESTATE SERIES – a mix of psychological suspense and family life with a sprinkling of grit and a dash of menace – where drama meets crime. The books are available individually or the first three as a box set.

I have four standalone novels. THE LIFE SHE WANTS, TEN DAYS, THE LIES YOU TELL and WATCHING OVER YOU.

They are dark in places, light in places, and disturbing in places.

I have also written four books featuring DS Grace Allendale, HUSH HUSH being the first one, TICK TOCK the second, LIAR LIAR the third and the final one to finish the series, GOOD GIRL.

Finally, there are two books about DS EDEN BERRISFORD. She works in a community intelligence team and helps to gather information and intel for investigations. THE GIRLS NEXT DOOR is the first book, followed by DON’T LOOK BEHIND YOU. These books are based in the same setting as THE ESTATE SERIES.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website www.melsherratt.co.uk or I’m on Twitter at @writermels