Broken Promises by Mel Sherratt @writermels #bookreview #publicationday

🥂🥂🥂HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO MEL SHERRATT 🥂🥂🥂 Broken Promises the fourth Allie Shenton book, is out today!!!

Massive thanks to the author for my advanced e-copy of Broken Promises. I also preordered a copy which hit my Kindle at a second past midnight*

* approximately – I was fast asleep (well maybe).

The Blurb

Family is everything. Loyalty should be…

The Limekiln Estate has witnessed many a dark crime over the years. When DI Allie Shenton is called out to a suspicious death, she isn’t surprised to see it’s a local she knows only too well.

While the slaying of Billy Whitmore is on everyone’s lips, a woman is stabbed in her home. A day later and a third victim turns up.

Three known associates brutally murdered – the bodies are piling up quicker than the forensic evidence is coming back. Yet Allie senses there’s something more disturbing going on. She’s sure Fiona Abbott, Billy’s partner, is involved too.

With enemies from her past rearing their ugly heads, and the press and public up in arms, Allie has her work cut out to get to the shocking truth. Can she and her loyal team stop the killer who has a close-knit community living in fear?

And by raking up secrets from the past, has she made the Abbott family the next target, especially fourteen-year-old Kelsey?

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull.

Broken Promises is the fourth novel in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million selling British author, Mel Sherratt, and perfect for fans of DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

What Did I Think?

Whoop whoop Allie Shenton is back and she’s back with a bang! She’s got the murder of a drug dealer to investigate. Yes he was a criminal and a nasty one at that but he was a human being and someone stabbed him to death. No one should get away with murder!

As the story went on, more bodies appear same MO but are they linked? With limited forensics and leads, Allie has her work cut out for her! But with the team behind her and the tenacity I know she has, I willed her to locate the culprit!

I loved returning the character that introduced me to Mel Sherratt’s writing 6 years. The return of Allie Shenton brought a leap of joy to my reading pile. I escaped to Allie’s Stoke, following the investigation avidly but also watching the personal lives of both Allie and and her team. Having the personal touch to the characters made them oh-so-more real, the friction in the marriage, building Lego with offspring, contemplating personal experiences.

Broken Promises is a stand-alone read in my book, despite being book four in the Allie Shenton journey. If you haven’t met Allie yet and you love a cracking police procedural, I implore you to give this series a try. But Mel…. Please can I have book five???

Who Is Mel Sherratt?

In her own words….

Home is where the hurt is…

Okay, I know I don’t look all dark and moody like most crime writers appear in their images but I do like to be different…

So what do I write? Actually, it’s what don’tI write. I have published seventeen novels so far: police procedurals, psychological thrillers and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit, as I call it. And then there is my pink side – writing as Marcie Steele. I have written five books as Marcie.  All my novels take you to the heart of the story.

Since 2012, all my books have become bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10, with several in the top 3, and many international bestsellers too.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books.

I’m not sure which I’m most proud of – being on the list of Stoke-on-Trent’s top 100 most influential people for four years, or after twelve years of rejection, selling over 1.8 million books.

Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Mandasue Heller, LJ Ross, Ian Rankin, JD Kirk and Lisa Jewell.

I regularly appear at festivals, conferences and events across the country – my favourites being London Book Fair and Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate.

So that’s me in a nutshell. Thanks for coming to my website. Don’t forget to sign up to my monthly newsletter and follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

1 thought on “Broken Promises by Mel Sherratt @writermels #bookreview #publicationday

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays (2 March 2022)! What are you reading this week? #WWWWednesdays | A Knight's Reads

Comments are closed.