A New York Secret By Ella Carey @Ella_Carey @bookouture #Extract

🎉🎉🎉Happy Publication Day to Ella Carey 🎉🎉🎉 To celebrate today’s release of The Lost Girl of Berlin the second Daughters of New York book, I’m delighted to be sharing an extract from the first in the series, A New York Secret which was published in March of this year. Hopefully this will whet your literary appetite to go and pick up both books!


A New York Secret – Amazon: https://bit.ly/3e4TKVv
The Lost Girl of Berlin – Amazon: https://bit.ly/3dK8lEK

Massive thank you to Sarah Hardy and Bookouture for this extract! I’ve got both blurbs for you to peruse before we get to the main event of the extract!

The Blurb – The Lost Girl Of Berlin (Book 2)

The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The child’s eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her…

1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winter’s day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.

Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of post-war life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more.

Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted and faces prison.

Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia—will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home…

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated.

The Blurb – A New York Secret (Book 1)

She looked at the telegram in horror, the words blurring in front of her eyes. She dropped to her knees, feeling that her entire world was ending. The paper slipped from her hands as she put her head in hands, sobs wracking her chest…

1942, New York. As war rages in Europe, Lily Rose is grateful for her perfect life: the love of her wealthy uptown parents in their beautiful brownstone overlooking the park and her dream job as a chef at one of New York’s finest restaurants, the art deco dream that is Valentino’s. But in her heart, Lily is drawn towards the bohemian Sicilian community in Greenwich Village, where gorgeous fresh fruit spills onto the pavement and the smell of freshly baked cannoli tempt her inside every Italian deli.

Part of the attraction is Tom Morelli, talented chef at Valentino’s and handsome grandson of Sicilian immigrants, whose deep brown eyes call to her and set her heart on fire. As wartime rationing bites in the city, Lily and Tom stay up late, dreaming up delicious meals that will see Valentino’s through the war and distract New Yorkers from the threat of sons and sweethearts being called up. Lily knows he has found the key to her heart.

Then Tom receives a devastating summons that changes everything: he is drafted to Italy. He must return to his beautiful homeland to fight a desperate war.

Suddenly alone, with only the memory of Tom’s last kiss, Lily turns to her parents for support. But when her mother finds out about her relationship, she is furious. When the war ends, Lily’s duty is to marry the man picked for her, raise children and never work again. They give her a heartbreaking ultimatum: end her relationship with Tom and give up her job or lose her family and inheritance forever.

Lily knows she must follow her heart to Valentino’s and to Tom. But when Tom is declared missing in action, Lily is totally heartbroken. If she pursues her dreams, will there be anything left for her when the war is over?

From top-ten bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will be captivated.

The Extract

Lily

New York, Fall, 1942

Lily Rose put on her red felt hat, reached for her matching coat and gloves and dashed out of her Gramercy Park home. She hopped into her little American Bantam, resting her head for one precious second on the steering wheel. Thank goodness for the treasured automobile. Fact was, it could always get her out of here. Her mother Victoria’s shrieks ricocheted around the private, gated New York square, flooding the peaceful morning air, and Lily’s father Jacob’s entreaties filtered out behind. Lily fired up the engine on her darling blue-and-white car with its pink leather trim and scooted away up Third Avenue, before turning into the parking lot closest to her beloved Valentino’s, the restaurant where she was thankful every day for her job as sous-chef. Lily slipped out of the Bantam, closed her gleaming car door with a satisfying click, adjusted her smart red hat, and strode out to East 63rd Street, her head full of recipes and her senses pricking with anticipation of all the wonderful and elaborate dishes she’d help conjure up at Valentino’s today. She rushed along Park Avenue from the parking lot, the city’s beaux arts apartment buildings dazzling in the morning sun. Lily clipped her way across the red carpets that ran underneath the bright canopies that led to the grand lobbies of glamorous homes, elderly doormen standing about in their white gloves and smart uniforms, hands folded behind their straight backs. She only stopped to catch her breath once she stopped outside the impressive entrance of Valentino’s. Flanked by its pair of intricate streetlamps, their yellow globes ghostly in the misty morning, Valentino’s art deco bold wooden bar gleamed proud in front of its grand fan-shaped mirror inside. The geometric paneling that lined the walls provided a sumptuous backdrop for intimate leather banquettes under the romantic lights that threw a warm glow into the beautiful interior. Lily strode around to the tradesman’s door, garnering some interested attention from the older men who’d not been drafted and who populated the streets of Manhattan these days. As Lily had worked her way up the brigade de cuisine from lowly vegetable chef to sous-chef, she’d recognized so many names among the clientele who ran in her family’s circles that she’d learned not to be fazed anymore. She’d cooked for debutante balls for girls she’d grown up with, decorated wedding cakes for young women whom she’d shared notes with in class at her Upper East Side school, and she’d slaved in the sizzling hot kitchen while her mother’s friends held ladies’ luncheons in the private rooms, gossiping with their chairs pulled close on the soft woolen carpets, tables decorated with glorious white lilies, all overlooked by masterpieces of modern art collected by the restaurant’s owner, Giorgio Conti. But Lily knew her mom, Victoria, held not a whit of appreciation for any of Valentino’s cultural allure. All Victoria wanted was for Lily to marry the wealthiest bachelor in New York. It was Victoria’s long-held dream, and having a daughter who preferred cooking in the basement kitchen of Valentino’s to attending her social rounds was a source of constant conflict at home, and something Lily fought to escape.

Who Is Ella Carey?

Ella Carey is the international bestselling author of The Things We Don’t Say, Secret Shores, From a Paris Balcony, The House by the Lake, and Paris Time Capsule. Her books have been published in over fourteen languages, in twelve countries, and have been shortlisted for ARRA awards. A Francophile who has long been fascinated by secret histories set in Europe’s entrancing past, Ella has degrees in music, nineteenth-century women’s fiction, and modern European history. She lives in Melbourne with her two children and two Italian greyhounds who are constantly mistaken for whippets.

Ella loves to connect with her readers regularly through her facebook page and on her website.

http://www.ellacarey.com/

https://www.facebook.com/ellacareyauthor/

https://twitter.com/Ella_Carey