Invisible Victim by Mel Sherratt @writermels @bookouture #booksontour #bookreview #publicationday #InvisibleVictim

🥂🥂🥂HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY MEL SHERRATT 🥂🥂🥂 Invisible Victim is out today!!!

Massive thank you to Noelle Holten for inviting me to join the Books-On-Tour and to Bookouture for my advanced e-copy of Invisible Victim which I received through Netgalley. I also preordered a copy which appeared on my kindle this morning.

The Blurb

‘Let me out! Please!’ I shouted, banging on the door. How had I got here? What day was it? I couldn’t remember anything. But I knew I had become the fifth woman to be abducted.

As my eyes adjust to the darkness, I’m filled with dread. Everything looks just like the others described: a small hole in the door, a mattress and a narrow window allowing only a small chink of light. The jewellery given to me by my loving husband has gone and I’m in someone else’s clothes.
Just days before, I had interviewed the third victim for the local paper. She couldn’t stop shaking. Her story was the same as those before her: an ordinary woman, locked away for ten days then released with no explanation, and nothing – nothing she could think of – to link her to the others. Throughout the ordeal, her abductor stayed eerily silent.

I tell myself I’ll be safe in ten days. But I can’t help thinking of the fourth victim who is still missing. And then I hear the voice coming through the door. ‘You said everything would be fine. But it wasn’t was it?’ It is then that I realise. If I am to make it out alive, I need to revisit a dark secret of my own that I have spent a lifetime trying to forget.

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll, T.M. Logan and C.L. Taylor.

invisible victim banner (2)

What Did I Think?

How can a woman vanish into thin air only to return ten days later with little memory, battered, bruised and nutritionally deprived? How?? Because there is a psycho on the loose that’s how!!! But it doesn’t stop at one woman, no siree!! Four go missing before it’s Eva’s “turn” to play this sick individual’s game. Question is will Eva survive her ten day incarceration and will she find out who is at the centre of all this trauma?!

The antagonist, Alex, seriously confused me. I thought I had it sussed but the more of the chapters I read and got in to their mindset, the less sussed I became. As the book went on, my insight to their logic got more unnerved and I feared for Eva! But Alex really intrigued me. So calm and collected but so twisted. What was the real motive to the abductions?

The narrative jumps around a little on timelines which took a bit of getting used to but once I did, I saw the pattern and settled into the story. This way of writing packs the story with tension but gave me glimmers of the twisted logic at play.

Yet again Sherratt has written a gritty and twisted thriller that kept my attention from beginning to end. I sat in fear for Eva’s safety as Alex slowly unraveled and the story hit its chilling climax. In this novel, nothing is quite what it seems and I was kept on my literary toes throughout. Cracking standalone read from the Queen of the Potteries Grit Lit!

Who Is Mel Sherratt?

My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas – fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh.

To date, I’ve sold 1.7 million books. All sixteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10 and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website www.melsherratt.co.uk 

Author Social Media Links:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mel_sherratt/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MelSherrattauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/writermels