The Cosy Little Cupcake Van by Annette Hannah @annettehannah @books_dash #blogtour #bookreview

Can you smell it? Can you? Yes that smell is the weekend and to me,it smells like cake! Sweet moist gorgeous cupcakes with delicious decadent sugary buttercream … and sprinkles …. oh wait…. it’s actually my stop on the blog tour for Annette Hannah’s The Cosy Little Cupcake Van…. can you tell it’s been a rough week (busy at work and now home schooling with my 6 year old again)… #INeedCake

Massive thanks to Annette and Rhea Kurien of Orion Dash for inviting me to join the blog tour and to Orion Dash for my advanced e-copy of The Cosy Little Cupcake Van which I received through Netgalley… I also bought myself a copy from Amazon.

The Blurb

Camilla’s delicious cakes are the talk of her little village. If you need a perfectly iced mouthful of joy, Camilla ‘Cupcake’ is your woman. But after losing her mother, she finds her home and her business in jeopardy. She needs a little helping hand…

Thankfully her friends are always there for her, and when she is given an old ice cream van, Camilla’s dream of a cupcake delivery service is born. Now she can bring happiness – and buttercream frosting – to the whole town.

But when her ex Blake appears back on her doorstep, Camilla must decide if she can trust him again or if her heart might belong to someone else… 

Bursting with romance and sprinkled with humour, this is a deliciously feel-good story about one woman putting her life back together, one cupcake at a time. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Ali McNamara and Rebecca Raisin!

What Did I Think?

I loved Annette Hannah’s first novel Wedding Bells At The Signal Box Cafe so I was very keen to read the follow up but also nervous (for the author) as I’ve been told the second book is harder than the first. But my fears were unfounded in this case; Hannah has taken to writing like a duck to water.

It was bliss to escape to the world we used to live in. Where you could go where you wanted, hug who you wanted and have a brew with who you wanted. Pure escapism!! I’m not saying anything else I’ve read preys heavy on a Covid world. But my usual read doesn’t really give rise to the arena of friendly hugs and the things we all desperately miss. But it made me all warm and fuzzy, like I said, pure escapism.

Camilla is a lovely character to spend some time with. She’s been through a lot after losing her mum; she has to rebuild herself. But she has the most amazing friends around her… and then this delicious Canadian returning to her life.

I loved the way Hannah wove in the characters she’d created in her debut into this novel. It was a feeling of familiar, of coming home. She’s packed her book with emotion, I was blubbing at the end. Annette Hannah can write a damn good feel good emotional story which I love. Pretty please with sprinkles and a cherry on top, keep them coming!!

Who Is Annette Hannah?

Annette Hannah is a Liver Bird who relocated to leafy Hertfordshire in the 80’s and now lives near a river with her husband, two of their three grown up children and a crazy black cocker spaniel. She writes Romantic comedies in settings inspired by the beautiful countryside around her and always with a nod to her hometown.

She worked in Marketing for many years as a qualified Marketeer which she loved as it tapped into her creative side.

As an avid reader, she began to review the books she read, became a book blogger and eventually plucked up the courage to fulfil her life long dream of writing a book.

For four years she was a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s new writers’ scheme, during which time she wrote a book a year.

After signing a two book deal with Orion Dash in 2020 she graduated to full member of the organisation and is also their Press Officer.

She loves long walks along the river, travelling to far flung places and spending time with her friends and family.

You can follow her on
twitter @annettehannah
http://www.sincerelybookangels.blogspot.com
http://www.annettehannah.com