Lost Souls by Chris Merritt @drcjmerritt @bookouture #booksontour #bookreview

Lost-Souls-Kindle

πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO CHRIS MERRITT πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ˜˜ Lost Souls is out today!! This is the third Lockhart and Green book!

Massive thanks to Noelle Holten for inviting me to join the #BooksOnTour fun and to Bookouture for my advanced e-copy of Lost Souls which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

Please forgive me for what I’m about to do…

Standing at the school gates, he waits until the last child leaves the safety of the playground. And then he follows at a distance, keeping to the shadows. Only he knows what’s going to happen next.

In a quiet church, on a busy London street, 12-year-old Donovan Blair is found dead. His hands are clasped together as if in prayer. Just hours ago, he was happily playing with his friends at school, but now his body is lifeless, and his killer is long gone.

Detective Dan Lockhart is working alone on his wife’s missing person’s case when he receives a call telling him to get to the crime scene at St Mary’s Church immediately.

Bringing in psychologist Dr Lexi Green to help profile the murderer, Dan is convinced that the killer has provided a clue by leaving the body in a prayer position, and Lexi agrees. As they try to get into the mind of the person responsible, another victim is found. A 13-year-old girl, left in a different church, posed in exactly the same way.

Fearing the murderer may already have another child in his sights, Dan and Lexi work together to establish links between the two deaths, and soon discover that not only were both children in care – they had attended the same school. And when it emerges that Lexi’s new boyfriend works there, things become difficult between her and Dan. How much can he tell Lexi about the case? And could she be at risk?

As Dan makes a breakthrough in the investigation, he receives devastating news about his wife, Jess. But with children’s lives at stake and Lexi in danger, Dan must put his personal emotions aside and chase the killer. Can he and Lexi work out who is behind the murders before another vulnerable child is taken?

This nail-biting crime book is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni. Once you pick up Lost Souls, you won’t be able to put it down!

Lost-Souls-Blog-Tour

What Did I Think?

After the cliff hanger of Who’s Next, I was desperate to find out what was going to happen next in the crime saga that is the series of Lockhart and Green.

But first there is a small matter of murder. But not just any old big standard murder (if there is such a thing). No, this is the worst of the sort, the murder of children, teenagers. Those who have their full life ahead of them, those who have been abandoned by their family and in the care system. Why would someone do such a thing? I had to find out.

The sporadic insight to our killer’s mind was chilling. They genuinely believed what they were doing was right. This deranged individual really needs to help…. stat!! I spent the whole book praying Lockhart and the team would crack the case and get justice for these Lost Souls.

This is a hell of a read. With Lockhart battling with his personal investigation by night and the murder case by day lead to some compelling narrative. Another cracking crime thriller from the keyboard of Merritt πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

Who Is Chris Merritt?

Chris Merritt portrait 3 medium

Chris Merritt is a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All his novels are set in London, where he lives. He began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked his interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now he spends most of his time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When he’s not writing, he loves climbing and playing basketball.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: 

https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt

Goodreads: 

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show /17558172.Chris_Merritt

Website: 

www.cjmerritt.co.uk