Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier @gojeanfraziergo @HQStories #blogtour #publicationday

๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO JEAN KYOUNG FRAZIER ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ Pizza Girl is out today!!!!

My thanks to the Blogger HQ team for my invite on the blog tour and for my advanced e-copy of Pizza Girl that I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

Named a most anticipated book of 2020 by Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Elle, Marie Claire, Time, People, BuzzFeed, Bustle, and more. Perfect for fans of Normal People and Fleabag

Great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering witโ€™ Richard Ford

Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl, our dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost and in complete denial about it all. Sheโ€™s grieving the death of her father, avoiding her loving boyfriend, and flagrantly ignoring her future.

Her world is further upended when she becomes obsessed with Jenny, a stay-at-home mother new to the neighbourhood, who comes to depend on weekly deliveries of pickle-covered pizzas for her sonโ€™s happiness.

As one woman looks toward motherhood and the other toward middle age, the relationship between the two begins to blur in strange, complicated, and ultimately heartbreaking ways.

Bold, tender, and unexpected, Pizza Girl is a moving and funny portrait of a flawed, unforgettable young woman as she tries to find her place in the world.

‘Fresh, funny, bittersweetโ€™ New York Times

โ€˜Bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricismโ€™ Esquire

โ€˜Funny, fast-moving and essentialโ€ฆ You will devour itโ€™ Lara Williams, author of Supper Club

What Did I Think?

Pickles on a pizza? As in gherkins?!? I love pineapple on my pizza which is controversial in some people’s eyes but pickles are not for me… they don’t even belong on a fast food cheeseburger! But each to their own! OK OK I’ll stop obsessing about pickles…

But this is a story about obsession. Our #PizzaGirl is obsessed by Jenny, the mum desperate to help her son settle in a new town by getting him his favourite pizza… but that’s not so straightforward. Until she rings the right pizza shop with the right girl answering the phone. What ensues is a tale of two lonely souls connecting over a pizza box.

Our protagonist is a mixed up young woman with hormones raging, just trying to fit in life. Following the story in her muddled mind is an interesting one. At times I didn’t know what she was going to do next. Her relationships with her mum, boyfriend, work colleagues and Jenny are all so different but at points I could identify with each one in a way. ๏ฟผ

This debut is very different to my usual read but it definitely made me stop and take notice. I’ll be interested to see what the author does next.

Who Is Jean Kyoung Frazier?

Jean Kyoung Frazier lives in Los Angeles. Pizza Girl is her debut novel.