Who’s Next? by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @Bookouture #WhosNext #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Happy Wednesday everyone! I’m delighted to be sharing my thoughts on Chris Merritt’s latest crime thriller Who’s Next.

If you fancy hearing the man himself reading from Who’s Next, you can catch the video over on Facebook.

Massive thanks to Noelle Holten for inviting me to join the #BooksOnTour and to Bookouture for my e-copy of Who’s Next which I received through Netgalley. I also bought a copy from Amazon.

The Blurb

Stumbling to the ground, he claws at the earth around him, trying to stabilise himself, but his attacker is on him in seconds. As he stares at the lights of the bustling streets on the other side of the park gates, he doesn’t even have time to shout for help before everything goes black.

When the body of wealthy businessman Charles Stott is found dead on Wimbledon Common, covered in bruises just feet away from his luxury home, Detective Dan Lockhart is called to investigate the shocking scene. Examining the sickeningly disfigured body before him, Lockhart knows he’s dealing with a brutal killer. Looking more closely, he notices something on the victim’s neck: a small, crudely drawn symbol in black ink. It seems the murderer has marked his victim, but why? Dan needs to get inside the perpetrator’s mind, so he contacts psychologist Dr Lexi Green.

As the ensuing media circus puts pressure on Dan and Lexi’s investigation, another victim is found and the headlines are quick to report a serial killer is on the loose. The body of a successful lawyer has been discovered in a park with the same bruising and hand-drawn symbol on his neck. Dan fears that more victims will follow.

As the case intensifies, Dan uncovers a new lead on his missing wife, Jess, who disappeared eleven years ago. Determined to follow it up, he must choose between tracking down a serial murderer and finding Jess. Can he make the impossible decision before the killer strikes once more?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down!

What Did I Think?

What a sinister opener! I love a sinister opening, sets the mood for a cracking crime thriller and this did exactly that! My attention was taken hostage as soon as I started and was only released on parole as I read the dying words of this fast paced crime thriller.

Lockhart and Green are back after the traumatic events of Knock Knock. Lockhart needs the doctor’s unofficial insight into a rather unusual killer. And this killer oh boy! I loved the chapters with our angel of death plotting the next kill. The stalking and planning are unnerving traits to this soul.

The chemistry between Lockhart and Green is still bubbling away. But Lockhart is still determined to find his missing wife despite the thoughts of his in-laws. I’m seriously intrigued to know what happened to Jess and will Lockhart ever get the closure he needs in his life. This underlying story thread is one I need to get closure on!!

And oh WHAT A CLIFFHANGER!!!!!!!!!!! Dr Merritt!!!! How could you do that to me???! Put it like this, you’re guaranteed I’ll be reading the next in the series for sure!! I couldn’t believe I couldn’t click any further! I seriously enjoyed this twisted crime thriller and I’ve been left wanting for the next!!

Who Is Chris Merritt?


Chris Merritt is a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All his novels are set in London, where he lives. He began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked his interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now he spends most of his time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When he’s not writing, he loves climbing and playing basketball.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/
show/17558172.Chris_Merritt

Website : www.cjmerritt.co.uk

1 thought on “Who’s Next? by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @Bookouture #WhosNext #BooksOnTour #BookReview

  1. Omg a cliffhanger? Wow. I haven’t read this book as I am unable to read long books keeping to short reads. Going through period of low concentration. Lovely review. I am intrigued

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.