Knock Knock by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @Bookouture #BooksOnTour #PublicationDay #bookreview

Knock Knock

HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO CHRIS MERRITT!!!!! Knock Knock is out today!!!! Whooooop Whoooooop!!!!! I’m delighted to be kicking off the Books-On-Tour proceedings along fellow Merritt fan Zoe from Zooloo’s Book Diary and the fabulous Jeanne from Fireflies and Free Kicks

A massive thank you to the fabulous Noelle Holten of Bookouture for my spot on the Books-On-Tour and for my advanced copy of Knock Knock which I received through Netgalley.  I also pre-ordered a copy which magically appeared on my kindle whilst I was sleeping.

The Chat

The man of the moment is going to be taking part in a Facebook Live with the lovely Noelle (technology permitting) at 12.30pm (UK Time). To join the chat, head over to the Bookouture Facebook page. If (like me) you can’t make the live chat, you’ll be able to play catch up later today (or whenever is convenient for you).
Knock Knock FB Live

The Blurb

Natasha Mayston wasn’t expecting anyone to knock on her door so late at night. And she has no idea that the face staring back at her is the last one she’ll ever see…

As Detective Dan Lockhart is called to a wealthy London street to investigate Natasha’s death, he’s startled by the similarity to a previous case. Noticing the cable-tie restraints and the tiny scratches on Natasha’s wedding finger, Dan already knows what he will find if he looks in her mouth – the metal ball which choked her to death. He knows Natasha isn’t the killer’s first victim and is certain that he will strike again.

Months earlier, Kim Hardy was found in the same position in a run-down hotel across the city – an identical silver ball in her throat. But Kim’s murderer was caught and sent to prison – did they arrest the wrong man? And what connects the two victims? Fearing that he’s dealing with a psychopathic serial killer, Dan calls in psychologist Dr Lexi Green to help him to get into the perpetrator’s mind. Tough and smart, Lexi will stop at nothing to hunt down the man responsible for the deaths.

Then, another body is discovered, just as Lexi finds a clue online leading to the killer. Dan’s team aren’t convinced, but in pushing Lexi away from the investigation, they force her to dig further into the case on her own. Convinced that she’s on to something, she puts herself in unthinkable danger… but can Dan piece together the clues and identify the killer before it’s too late?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down!

Knock Knock - Blog Tour

What Did I Think?

I loved Chris Merritt’s debut trilogy featuring the hard nosed detective, Zac Boeteng so when I heard he’d started on a new series, I was rather excited. But I was a little nervous too; would I enjoy it as much?! But my fears were alleviated within the first few chapters….

Boom! What a MO! The full extent of this killer’s technique is not known until the post mortem. That’s got to be such a horrific way to go! It has me grasping my throat for breath as Natasha Mayston’s unfortunate demise is laid out on the mortuary slab. Bejeezus!!! *Shudder*

I really took to Lockhart. He’s a detective with focus. “He wouldn’t stop until he’d found the guy who’d done this. Whatever it took” and oh the rapport that is built with Lexi. The levels of trust between that pairing is brilliant, so much more than a therapist/patient relationship. Normally great pairings are the normal police partnerships but for me this brought something different to the table!

The pace at which the story progresses is addictive. I couldn’t unglue my eyes from my kindle. Starting a new series has not been detrimental to Dr Merritt’s writing in the slightest. In fact it’s enhanced it!! Merritt’s created a fabulous new series with a brilliant starring lead characters. I’m looking forward to getting to know Lockhart and Green a lot better over the series and seeing what Merritt throws at them!!

Who Is Chris Merritt

Chris Merritt portrait 3 medium

Chris Merritt is a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All his novels are set in London, where he lives. He began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked his interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now he spends most of his time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When he’s not writing, he loves climbing and playing basketball.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17558172.Chris_Merritt

Website: www.cjmerritt.co.uk