Her Broken Wings by D.K. Hood @DKHood_Author @bookouture #booksontour #bookreview #BlackRockFalls

Her Broken Wings

๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO D K HOOD!!! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ I’m thrilled to be kicking off the #BooksOnTour alongside the lovely Zoe over at ZooLoo’s Book Diary.

Massive thanks to the fabulous Noelle Holten for inviting me on the tour and to Bookouture for my advanced e-copy that I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

The sound that wakes her from sleep is unmistakableโ€”someone is in their house. She listens as heavy footsteps start up the stairs, and as the bedroom door is flung open, she doesnโ€™t even have time to screamโ€ฆ

Following a frantic emergency call in the middle of the night, Detective Jenna Alton arrives at a secluded family home to find the body of Lucas Robinson lying in a pool of his own blood in his bed. His wife Carol, shivering in shock, has just watched an intruder shoot her husband in cold blood.

As Jenna investigates the murder, she soon discovers that Lucas was having an affair. And when his mistress is also found strangled to death in the center of the small town, Jenna is convinced that the murderer is living amongst them.

When the killer escalates with a mass murder at a remote ranch on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Jenna knows for sure that sheโ€™s dealing with a murderer more twisted than any other sheโ€™s faced before.

As the town begins to fill with revelers for the annual Halloween festival, Jenna has to work fast to stop any more lives being taken. But as the killer always seems to be one step ahead of the investigation, has she finally met a murderer who can outsmart her?

Fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott will love this compelling and nail-biting crime thriller from bestselling author, D.K. Hood.

ย **Each Kane and Alton book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone**

 

Her Broken Wings banner

What Did I Think?

“he owed it to the people of this fine county, the very best in murder and mayhem.”

Yes I’m back in Black Rock Falls for another brutal case for Jenna Alton, Dave Kane and the team. And as the quote above suggests, it’s a case packed with murder and mayhem but as this is my eighth trip to Montana, I expect nothing less from D. K. Hood!

The randomness of the killings really pushes the team to their investigative limits. There is no logic or pattern to the choices the not-so-friendly killer is making. But as the reader of this dark work of crime fiction, I get an rather entertaining insight to the killer’s logic…

sheโ€™d become almost a cult figure among men like him.

I love the sporadic chapters featuring the killer. Once again, Black Rock Falls is at the mercy of a serious bloodthirsty psychopathand this one is worse than the last one! This is one manic person on the edge!

And then oh the descriptions!blood had matted her blonde hair into red dreadlocks.…” the imagery! Hood totally immersed me into life in Black Rock Falls, I always feel I’m there with the team and Her Broken Wings is no different. It’s like I’m on holiday but it’s not really a holiday with the horrific crimes set out before me!

There are a few different characters to mention… one character who made more of an appearance was Duke, Kane’s canine sidekick. Despite the harsh weather, he played his part on more than one occasion.๏ฟผ he seriously protective of our Jenna and I love him for it! And then there is the new additions. I’m looking forward to getting to know Jo and Ty better… hope they are a firm fixture in the series. They are an interesting pairing to add to the already diverse team but they both bring plenty to the Black Rock Falls table.

Yet again Hood has written a brilliantly dark and twisted crime thriller. The mayhem that plays out on the page is addictive to say the least. This Black Rock Falls addict is well and truly satisfied by the hit she’s received…. big question is…. when do I get my next one?!?

Who Is D. K. Hood?

Author

I’ve always had a wicked sense of humour and was the kid who told the ghost stories around the campfire. I am lucky to have family all over the world and have spent many vacations in places from Paris France to Montana USA and Australia. I use the wonderful memories from these visits to enhance my stories.

My interest in the development of forensic science to solve crime goes back many years. I enjoy writing crime, mystery and thrillers. With many stories, waiting for me to write I’ll look forward to sharing many spine-tingling stories with you.

D.K. Hood is an active member of International Thriller Writers.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: www.dkhood.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dkhoodauthor/

Twitter: ย https://twitter.com/DKHood_Author

2 thoughts on “Her Broken Wings by D.K. Hood @DKHood_Author @bookouture #booksontour #bookreview #BlackRockFalls

Comments are closed.