Tell Me Lies by Ed James @EdJamesAuthor @Bookouture #booksontour #bookreview

Tell Me Lies cover

Woooo hoooooo it’s the weekend!!!!! And have I got a cracking book for you today?! I’ll admit whilst I’ve been reading Ed James’ Tell Me Lies, I kept hearing that Fleetwood Mac track in my head but I’m a little weird like that 😂😂

A massive thank you to Noelle Holten of Bookouture for inviting me on the bookson-tour and to Bookouture for my advanced copy of Tell Me Lies (I also bought myself a copy).

The Blurb

Fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci will be gripped by this heart-racing FBI thriller from bestselling author Ed James.

Megan Holliday opens her eyes and finds herself slumped on her doorstep. The last thing she remembers is being in the car with her two kids. She sees a handwritten note on her lap – Don’t call the police. It’s then that she realises her car is missing, and her children are gone…

Leading the FBI’s Child Abduction Rapid Deployment team, FBI agent Max Carter will stop at nothing to find children taken from their families. After all, he was once one of those taken children, so he knows exactly what’s at stake. When he hears that a young senator’s two children have been abducted and their mother left for dead, he races to the Holliday family home in Washington State.

Facing a wall of police cruisers and blacked-out SUVs, Carter quickly uncovers the facts. Megan Holliday was ambushed by a man with a gun as she returned home from taking her kids out for ice cream. Bound and drugged, the attacker left her unconscious on the doorstep with the sinister note on her lap.

As Senator Christopher Holliday walks through the halls of the US Federal Building in Seattle, his phone beeps with an alert. Frustrated by the interruption, he takes a cursory glance and is horrified by the image on the screen – his two children, Brandon and Avery, unconscious. The message he gets simply reads Meet me or they die.

When Agent Carter tries to make contact with the busy senator, it seems the politician has gone missing, fleeing from the Federal Building and abandoning his distraught wife. If Carter knows one thing, it’s that Holliday has something to hide. And he just became Carter’s prime suspect.

Tell Me Lies banner

What Did I Think?

Two children ripped from their family but why? How was the senator involved? Guilty conscience? Blackmail or is he in on it??! As a mum, the thought of someone stalking and drugging me to take my kids is a chilling prospect.

I loved meeting Max Carter. They say your past defines you and in his case it does more than that. And his past is stalking him and his family! I want to know more. How will Carter deal with this proverbial thorn in his side?!

The majority of the story is set over the one day so it travels at one hell of a pace. This speed is reenforced with the differing perspective of each chapter. As I stepped deeper into the lives of the characters and the events that led to the kidnapping of two innocent children, I could feel my body tense, fearing for the mortality of these little ones.

I seriously loved Tell Me Lies. I am ashamed of myself for not reading any of Ed James’ books before despite there being a few buried on my kindle. Tell Me Lies is a fast paced race against time that I was totally engrossed in stalking Carter, the senator and the kidnappers. Can’t wait to see what’s in store for Max Carter next!

Who Is Ed James?

Ed James

Ed James is the author of multiple series of crime novels.

The bestselling DI Simon Fenchurch series is set in East London and published by Thomas & Mercer.

The self-published Scott Cullen series of Scottish police procedurals features a young Edinburgh Detective Constable investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. The first book, “Ghost in the Machine”, has been downloaded over 400,000 times, hitting both the Amazon UK & US top five.

The Craig Hunter books is a sister series to the Cullen novels, with a PTSD-suffering ex-squaddie now working as a cop investigating sexual abuse cases. With lots of slapstick and banter.

Ed lives in East Lothian, Scotland and writes full-time, but used to work in IT project management, where he filled his weekly commute to London by literally writing on planes, trains and automobiles. 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Mailing list — http://bit.ly/EJMail
Email — ed@edjames.co.uk
Twitter — http://www.twitter.com/edjamesauthor
Facebook — http://www.facebook.com/EdJamesAuthor

3 thoughts on “Tell Me Lies by Ed James @EdJamesAuthor @Bookouture #booksontour #bookreview

Comments are closed.