What She Saw Last Night by M J Cross @masoncrossbooks @orionbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #blogtour #bookreview #compulsivereaders

What She Saw Last night cover

It’s the start of a new week and I’m more than thrilled to be opening the blog tour for MJ Cross’ What She Saw Last Night.

Massive thanks to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for inviting me in the blog tour and to Orion Books for my copy of What She Saw Last Night.

The Blurb

No one will believe … WHAT SHE SAW LAST NIGHT.

Jenny Bowen is going home. Boarding the Caledonian Sleeper, all she wants to do is forget about her upcoming divorce and relax on the ten-hour journey through the night.

In her search for her cabin, Jenny helps a panicked woman with a young girl she assumes to be her daughter. Then she finds her compartment and falls straight to sleep.

Waking in the night, Jenny discovers the woman dead in her cabin … but there’s no sign of the little girl. The train company have no record of a child being booked on the train, and CCTV shows the dead woman boarding alone.

The police don’t believe Jenny, and soon she tries to put the incident out of her head and tells herself that everyone else is right: she must have imagined the little girl.

But deep down, she knows that isn’t the truth.

What Did I Think?

I’m ashamed to say this is the first Mason Cross novel I’ve read, but what a cracker to start with! Did Jenny really see a girl on the sleeper train or was it just a figment of her imagination brought on by grief and stress?

Following Jenny as she went up and down the country trying to find out what happened to this young girl she saw on the train made for a compelling read.  There were a fair few gasps and jaw drops as I was dragged deeper into the hunt for the missing girl.

Cross’ writing really ignited my imagination. The Scottish countryside was brought to life with the subtle descriptions and I could picture myself going on the sleeper train from Euston. I was there being Jenny as she delved deeper into her quest. Would I be able to find this missing girl?

This standalone book is packed with intrigue and suspense. The fast paced chase up and down the country kept me glued to the pages right to the very end. I’ll be definitely digging out my other Mason Cross reads!

Who Is M J Cross?

Mason Cross

Mason Cross is the author of the Carter Blake thriller series published by Orion. The first book, The Killing Season, was  published in 2014, and was followed by The Samaritan, The Time to Kill (titled Winterlong in the USA), Don’t Look For Me and Presumed Dead. What She Saw Last Night, his first standalone novel, was published in 2019.

Mason Cross’s short crime stories have been published in magazines including Ellery Queen and First Edition. His story, ‘A Living’, was shortlisted for the Quick Reads ‘Get Britain Reading’ Award.

The Killing Season was longlisted for the 2015 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award, and The Samaritan was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club for Spring 2016. Most recently, Presumed Dead was longlisted for the 2018 McIlvanney Prize.

To sign up for the Mason Cross Readers Club for updates and exclusive giveaways, go to masoncross.net/readers-club

Find out more at www.masoncross.net