The Quiet Girls by J. M. Hewitt @jmhewitt @Bookouture #booksontour

Happy Thursday everyone!! I’m delighted to be welcoming the Books On Tour for J M Hewitt’s The Quiet Girls to A Knight’s Reads.

Massive thanks to the fabulous Noelle Holten of Bookouture for inviting me on tour and to Bookouture for my advanced copy of The Quiet Girls which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

‘Hattie!’ Carrie called, an edge to her voice. ‘Hattie, this isn’t funny, come out now.’ Carrie moved through the woods on shaking legs. She tried calling, shouting, screaming, but everything was quiet. Her little sister was gone.

Detective Carrie Flynn’s sister Hattie was kidnapped when they were both little girls. After the police failed to find the culprit, Carrie swore she would become a detective and solve the case herself. But the face of the man who snatched Hattie is a blank in her memory…

Twenty years later, eleven-year-old Melanie Wilson is reported missing, a quiet child who longs to fit in, just like Hattie… Carrie has to fight off memories of her lost sister to concentrate on the case, but she soon finds grainy black-and-white footage of Melanie boarding a boat and vanishing. She discovers Melanie has been taken to Pomona, a deserted island, almost inaccessible from the city. But who took little Melanie, and why?

Then the police receive a desperate cry for help from another young girl: I gave you his name, told you where to find him, but you did nothing. My blood is on your hands. Carrie traces the call to the same docks where Melanie was last seen. Now she has a second missing child to save.

But the sound of the broken voice has unlocked something in Carrie. The blurred face of her sister’s kidnapper is starting to become clearer…

Carrie is sure the lost girls are in terrible danger – and that there’s a link between her sister’s disappearance and this case. To find Melanie, Carrie must unleash the memories she’s buried for years. And if she uses her own demons to bring Melanie home, can she finally find out what happened to her sister?

This absolutely unputdownable thriller will keep you up all night until you reach the final heart-stopping page! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Val McDermid and Lisa Regan.

the quiet girls blog tour poster

 What Did I Think?

I am seriously angry with myself!!!! Why have I never read anything by this author before?!? Despite having three of her previous novels sat on my kindle, I am kicking myself for not delving into any of them!!! Bad Knight!!!!!

I loved the dual timelines between Carrie’s past and the present and how the present splits between different people. This simple but fully intertwined concept kept me looking every which way trying to see what was going on from all angles. But when I was looking left, I probably should have been looking straight ahead as the author threw clues at me. The build was tense, topped off with a seriously delicious cherry of a climax!

This dark police procedural had me glued to my kindle for hours. The author’s writing totally gasped my imagination and emotions as Carrie dealt with buried feelings desperately trying to find missing Melanie. I’ll definitely be rectifying my omission of the author’s previous work!!

 

Who Is J M Hewitt?

J.M. Hewitt writes crime fiction and is the author of three previous crime fiction novels and has been published in two short story publications. Her work usually incorporates twentieth and twenty-first century events and far flung locations, and her novels explore the darker side of human behaviour. In contrast to the sometimes dark content of her books, she lives in a seaside town in Suffolk with her dog, Marley.

When she was ten years old she’d read all the books she owned, all those on her mother’s bookcase and everything the library had to offer. She decided the only course of action to take was to write her own stories. Thirty years later, she is still writing them.

Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/j.mhewittauthor/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/jmhewitt

WEBSITE: www.jeanettehewitt.com