A Body In The Lakes by Graham Smith @grahamsmith1972 @bookouture #bookreview #TeamYoung #booksontour

Body in the Lakes cover

Happy Saturday everyone! Hope you’ve got some exciting plans this weekend despite the blustery miserable weather! But if you haven’t, why not treat yourself to the latest crime thriller from Graham Smith! It’s currently at a bargain price if you click on the link.

Big thanks to the fabulous Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me to join the Books-On-Tour fun and to Bookouture for my copy of A Body In The Lakes which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

The woman’s limbs were so thin; the skin on her arms as translucent as tracing paper. Around her neck lay a faint string of purple bruises. In one so frail, darker, angrier marks might be expected but Beth knew the bruising would have stopped the moment her heart stopped beating.

When a walker finds the body of a woman by the shores of Lake Ullswater, the police are put on high alert. Felicia Evans was known to be a tough character, but who would have strangled her?

Detective Beth Young quickly spots the links to three cold cases. Three women strangled and discarded in the stunning, wild hills of the Lake District.

As Beth begins tracking down witnesses, the team receives an anonymous letter claiming the charming mayor of Carlisle is behind the murders. There’s pressure from the top to clear his name. But Beth is determined to find the truth no matter whose feathers she ruffles in the process.

Beth knows the clock is ticking. The killer is hunting again. And it’s down to her to find who’s responsible before another woman becomes his prey…

A gripping edge-of-your-seat thriller from bestselling author Graham Smith, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and J.R. Ellis.

What Did I Think?

Boom!!!! DC Beth Young is back after an explosive debut outing in Death In The Lakes. And Graham Smith does not disappoint with this second in the series featuring this tenacious spunky young detective!

Having read all of Mr Smith’s previous crime thrillers, I started A Body In The Lakes with great anticipation. The crimes have been getting more heinous and I read with bated breathe to see what twisted way the victims are being terrorised to death. Yet again, I squirmed as Young Beth was told by Dr Hewson the extent of the demise of this poor lady. Is the charming (aka slightly sleazy) mayor really guilty of this horrible crime?

Sporadically placed through the police investigation are diary entry chapters. The diarist seems close to the mayor – are these personal entries clues to the mayor’s guilt? These random chapters really piqued my interest. Who was this person??!

This case really kept me guessing. Who was the sick and twisted killer? Would Beth be able to work out who it was before another body was found? Will she fall for the mayor’s charms? So many questions and the only way to answer them was to devour this crime thriller!

I for one can not wait to see what happens next for Beth, both professionally and personally. She’s had two very challenging cases in the team, what will Graham Smith throw at her next?! And as for the non-work stuff, I won’t say too much but I can feel it in my bones, it’s going to be a bumpy ride for our Beth!

Body in the Lakes banner

Who Is Graham Smith?

10676216_332613116945700_354224025435151128_n

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel with Bookouture is set in Cumbria and the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

 Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972

Website: https://grahamsmithauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5446655.Graham_Smith?from_search=true