The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @Bookouture #blogtour #bookreview

The-Silent-Dead-Kindle

Woooo hoooo!!!! I can’t tell you how excited I am today to be sharing my review of the first in a new series from Mr Graham Smith, featuring DC Beth Young.

Massive thanks to the fabulous Noelle Holten for inviting me on the blog tour and to Bookouture for my copy of The Silent Dead which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

He’d found one angel for his collection. Next he had to find a companion for her. One angel at a time was never enough…

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Lake District major crimes team when a bride discovers a horribly mutilated body on her wedding day, putting the entire police force on red alert to find the killer.

Beth doesn’t think like everyone else. To her, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder. And when the initial legwork for the case falls to Beth, it fast becomes clear she’s actually the only person who’s truly committed to working out who is behind the killing.

As more bodies are discovered in ever-more remote locations in the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time. What she doesn’t know is that she has also caught the attention of the killer.

And he’s looking for another darling to add to his collection…

A gripping new detective series set in the Lake District, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James.

What Did I Think?

Don’t you just love it when a favourite author creates a brand sparkly new series for your reading pleasure?  Since I’ve discovered Graham Smith’s writing with the brilliant Harry Evans, he’s gone on to create the fantastic Jake Boulder and now the tenacious Beth Young!!

The Silent Dead kicks off with a horrifying discovery on what should be Emily Welton’s happiest day of her life, her wedding day! And what follows leads into a dark and twisted crime thriller from Mr Smith.

I feared for all the characters once I’d read the post mortem of the first victim.  I won’t spoil the shock factor for you but this is a truly unique MO which I don’t think I’ll read about ever again!!

I adore Beth, she’s eager and open to thinking outside the box so to speak. She’s a spunky new DC who is keen to impress those around her.  The team around her aren’t perfect but that makes them human.  I had images in my head of Unthank, Thompson and O’Dowd as they progressed through the investigation.

I love the rapport between Beth and Hewson.  There is a mutual respect for each other’s thoughts and skills.  Hewson soon cottoned on to Beth’s thirst to learn and explore less-than-normal avenues. I can’t wait to see this relationship develop especially given the animosity yet quiet respect between Hewson and DI O’Dowd putting Beth squarely in the position of piggy in the middle.

“He was more than just a twisted killer, he thought he was better than everyone else”

Now our killer….he is one sick individual. It’s amazing what thought patterns go through people’s heads and with this particular individual, Mr Smith has created a despicable individual with a warped taste for murder.

As with all Mr Smith’s books, I was kidnapped into the world he’d created, captivated by the investigation that faced Beth and the team. I flew through the pages on my kindle, desperate to know who was committing these horrific crimes.

I normally hate it when people say that an author’s new book is their best yet but this time I genuinely believe Mr Smith has written his darkest, most chilling crime thriller to date. I can’t recommend this book highly enough if you love your crime fiction!

Blog-Tour-Graphic-The-Silent-Dead

Who Is Graham Smith?

10676216_332613116945700_354224025435151128_n

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel – The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972

Website: https://grahamsmithauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/GrahamSmith

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @Bookouture #blogtour #bookreview

  1. Pingback: Suntag: Book Blogger Insider Tag – Chocolate'n'Waffles

Comments are closed.