The Hangman’s Hold by Michael Wood @MichaelHWood @KillerReads #blogtour #review #teamdarke

51ahNycFpeL._SY346_

🎉🎉 I’m thrilled to be sharing my review of The Hangman’s Hold today as it’s paperback publication day. So those of you who love the feel of the pages in your hand can now get your mitts on the latest Matilda Darke novel!!!!

Huge thanks to Michael Wood for inviting me on the blog tour and to Claire Fenby at Killer Reads for my copy of The Hangman’s Hold which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

There’s a killer in your house.

The Hangman waits in the darkness of your living room. As soon as you get home, he will kill you – hang you by the neck – and make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.

He knows your darkest secrets.

The police are running out of time. DCI Matilda Darke is facing her worst nightmare: a serial killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice, whose campaign of violence is spreading fear throughout the city.

And he is closer than you think.

As the body count rises, Matilda is personally targeted and even her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

What Did I Think?

Darke by name, dark by nature.

I don’t know where to start with The Hangman’s Hold.  This is a case quite close to home for Matilda with her bestie’s new beau found hung only a short time after their first date.  As readers, we know what is going on but we don’t know who or why. And the darkness continues from there.  What I didn’t expect was for this case to consume me as a reader!

I do love Matilda Darke. She has such a dead pan sense of humour. Her relationship with Adele is pitched perfectly. The girlie nights of wine, chocolate and TV.

This is an unflinching portrayal of vigilantism. Michael Wood made me question whether the justice system does get it right all the time or is what the court dishes out as punishment what is deserved.

Michael Wood’s writing is captivating. I was totally engrossed in the story, I know bits of Sheffield so could picture the story unfolding before my eyes. I had a handful of suspects which I kept jumping between. The subtleties of the red herrings and clues are sublime. My kindle battery died as the story started to climax. Rather than wait for it to charge, I read on my phone which I don’t normally do during the day.  As I read the closing chapters, my hand was against my mouth.  Mr Wood has written a heart pumping finale!

If you haven’t met Matilda Darke before, you so should! Yes there are references to the previous investigations but they are just references. You don’t need to have read all the previous novels to enjoy The Hangman’s Hold.

Who Is Michael Wood?

michael Wood

Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

Follow Michael on twitter (@MichaelHWood) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/MichaelWoodBooks/)