Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture #blogtour #review

Last Witness

Whoop whoop!!! It’s my turn on the blog tour for Chris Merritt’s second novel Last Witness and I am honoured to be closing this week long tour! I loved Bring Her Back, the author’s debut novel so I was very excited when Bookouture announced the publication of Last Witness. 

Big thanks to the awesome Noelle Holten for inviting me to join the blog tour and to Bookouture for my copy of Last Witness which I received through Netgalley.

The Blurb

What if you made one mistake and it came back to kill you? 

Detective Zac Boateng’s old friend, Troy McEwen, is found dead in his home. The official verdict is suicide. But Boateng believes it was murder. And he thinks he might be next on the killer’s list.

If Troy didn’t take his own life, then who did? As he investigates, Boateng discovers a link to an incident from decades earlier. Mistakes were made that day. Lives were lost and secrets kept. Until now…

As more people who were there on that fateful day are found dead, Boateng knows that the killer is closing in on him…

A tense crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson. Last Witness is a gripping, fast-paced thriller that will have you hooked from the first page.

What Did I Think?

“The only mistakes you make are the opportunities you don’t react to”

Zac Boateng is back and he’s policing in his own unique way again. And it’s another personal case he’s got to solve! Old friendships die hard and Zac has to open old wounds.  Painful wounds and the old friends all have something to hide….but someone wants the secrets out in the open.  Who can Zac trust?!

I’m one of those people who wants to solve the case before the grand reveal. Frequently I get it wrong or I can’t settle on a suspect. But with Last Witness, just before half way through I had my suspect….and despite the author’s efforts to change my mind, I didn’t waver from my choice which does make a change. Was I right? Now that would be a spoiler and there are #nospoilers here!

I was extremely intrigued who is Jim and who he works for?? How does he fit into this complex story? He was a man I needed to keep an eye on….and I’m glad I did!

“Your sin will find you out”

This is a very tense read from Chris Merritt which I thoroughly enjoyed. And the climax!! Oh my that was brilliant! This dark crime thriller is a cracker of a read. I can’t wait for Book 3! Mr Merritt, I can’t believe you left me hanging!! I need Book 3 right now!!!!

As I’ve mentioned, this is the last day of the blog blitz so you’ve got 13 other posts you can check out!! Go on, you know you want to 😉 You can also go and check out the video of the Facebook live chat that Noelle had with Chris Merritt to mark publication of Last Witness.

And if you fancy a copy of Last Witness, you can download a copy from all reputable e-book sellers….

Amazon:  mybook.to/LWSocial

iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/y8qzgjp3 

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/y75wzrqx 

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/ybz3k7ox 

Last witness banner

Who Is Chris Merritt?

Chris Merritt is a Clinical Psychologist and former diplomat based in London, who has been writing on psychology since 2010. In 2014 he decided to combine his Bring Her Back, his debut novel. He currently works on a mental health research project at King’s College London, and part-time as a psychologist in the NHS. When not working or writing, he loves climbing and basketball, and dreams of one day being able to work from home enough to own a whippet.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17558172.Chris_Merritt

1 thought on “Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture #blogtour #review

  1. Pingback: This is the month that was… | A Knight's Reads

Comments are closed.