Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour #guestpost #blogtour

freefall

Wooo hoooo!!! I am thrilled to be opening the blog tour for Adam Hamdy’s second novel Freefall.  This fabulous thriller is out tomorrow in paperback and I’ve got a guest post from the man himself Adam Hamdy.

Big thanks to Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour!! So to kick this stop off, here’s the all-important bookish blurb!

The Blurb

ONE RULE. TRUST NO-ONE.

This explosive, pulse-racing thriller is perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Orphan X, with a story as unexpected as a sniper’s bullet. Adam Hamdy’s first Pendulum novel was called ‘one of the best thrillers of the year’ by James Patterson.

JOHN WALLACE IS A TARGET
Hiding off-grid after exposing the shadowy Pendulum conspiracy, Wallace is horrified to discover he is still marked for death.

THERE ARE ONLY TWO PEOPLE HE CAN TRUST
DI Patrick Bailey is still reeling from the murder investigation that nearly cost him his life.

FBI Agent Christine Ash is hunting a serial killer with a link to an unfinished case

HE MUST FIND THE TRUTH
The death of a London journalist triggers an investigation that brings them back together, hurling them into the path of an unknown enemy.

BEFORE THE KILLER FINDS HIM
Hunted across the world, they are plunged into a nightmare deadlier than they could have ever imagined.

Guest Post – Three men in a boat take on the internet

Three guys jump in a boat and try to destroy the Internet. Sounds like the opening line of a joke, right? It’s actually the true tale of three Egyptian men who, in 2013, tried to sever Egypt’s connection to the Internet. Yes, Egypt really does have a single Internet connection, a huge cable that runs beneath the Mediterranean from Alexandria to Italy. The story fascinated me. What motivated these men to take such risks? What were they hoping to achieve by depriving Egypt’s citizens of the ability to upload gifs to Twitter, Instagram images of their meals, or Facebook fake news?

The BBC reported the arrest of the three men, but Egyptian media gave a little more insight into their motivation and it seems that they viewed the Internet as a source of negative social influences and decided to take radical steps to thwart it.

When researching Freefall, which is set against the backdrop of the digital world, I didn’t come across anyone who would dive to the bottom of the Atlantic to cut the UK’s Internet connection, but I was surprised by the strength of anti-tech feeling. The senior music executive who was almost in tears when he described how technology had destroyed his industry, the local newspaper reporter who was desperately trying to avoid the scythe of redundancy until he made retirement, the mother whose teenage daughter had become the unwitting victim of revenge porn; these were all fairly understandable detractors.

What surprised me more was the strength of anti-tech feeling from people who work in the sector and are responsible for financing and building the hardware and software that is transforming our world. The IT consultant who regrets ever allowing his children online, the games designer who won’t let his children have a console, and the tech venture capitalist who has a ‘no devices’ policy at his weekend home.

I recently bumped into an old university friend who works as a fund manager for a big bank. He was attending a conference in a swanky London hotel and learning about the latest developments in AI. As we stood in the plush lobby discussing the pace and scale of change, he said, ‘What I don’t understand is if robots are doing all the work, how will anyone earn money to buy stuff?’

Another friend, who is a very senior figure in the City, recently told me that widening wealth inequality is one of the most pressing social issues of our time and, using words that I would have normally associated with a trade unionist, said that it needed to be addressed urgently. It’s no accident that the riches of the world have been concentrated in fewer and fewer hands during the digital revolution. Technology allows companies to serve more customers more efficiently, requiring less people in the value chain.

In April 2018, Shop Direct, the company that owns Very and Littlewoods, announced it would be closing three warehouses, putting 2,000 jobs at risk. While the job losses are sad and traumatic for those involved, the wider issue is that those jobs aren’t moving to another town or going offshore, the people are being replaced by machines as Shop Direct moves to a new, purpose built, fully automated distribution facility.

Automation has long been a threat to manual work. When car workers were laid off as a result of automation, society shrugged and said those people needed to retrain and acquire new skills. Now that AI threatens almost every job from lawyer to accountant to lorry driver, the social shrug isn’t going to do. What retraining and acquisition of new skills will enable people to compete with the constant encroachment of machines?

The digital revolution has been wonderful to live through and has brought many improvements, but it has also been a challenge. The next phase of this technological juggernaut is going to pose huge questions. Questions that go beyond issues of fake news, online bullying and propaganda and manipulation that have dogged the Internet in recent times. The next wave of change is going to see entire industries transformed by AI and robotics and is going to require a radical approach to our idea of wealth distribution being linked to employment. Why should people be consigned to live in poverty if there simply aren’t enough jobs for humans?

Freefall was written with this simple question very much in mind. It’s a fast paced, action thriller, but at its core is a warning that if politicians and governments around the world don’t plan for the huge changes we’re going to face, people will take matters into their own hands. If we don’t find ways to address the challenges technology poses, maybe one day we’ll see three Britons in a boat armed with snorkels, bolt cutters, and a whole heap of Luddite tradition.

Adam Hamdy

Thought provoking stuff from Mr Hamdy! Keep an eye out for the rest of the blog tour (apologies for the lack of a poster!)

Who Is Adam Hamdy?

Identified as an Amazon Rising Star, British author and screenwriter Adam Hamdy works with studios and production companies on both sides of the Atlantic.

He is the author of the Pendulum trilogy, an epic series of conspiracy thriller novels. James Patterson described Pendulum as ‘one of the best thrillers of the year’, and the novel was a finalist for the Glass Bell Award for contemporary fiction. Pendulum was chosen as book of the month by Goldsboro Books and was selected for BBC Radio 2 Book Club.

Prior to embarking on his writing career, Adam was a strategy consultant and advised global businesses in the medical systems, robotics, technology and financial services sectors.

1 thought on “Freefall by Adam Hamdy @adamhamdy @headlinepg #randomthingstour #guestpost #blogtour

  1. Wow, what a great post! As an avid social media user I often wonder if I could go back to a non-digital existence. I wouldn’t go to the extremes of deep sea diving though! Enjoyed reading this and will be checking out Adam’s book.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.