Too Close To Breathe by Olivia Kiernan @LivKiernan @riverrunbooks @annecater #blogtour #randomthingstours #review #TooCloseToBreathe

Too Close to Breathe

Welcome to my stop on the Too Close To Breathe blog tour.

Many thanks to riverrun books and Anne Cater of Random Things Tours for my copy of Too Close To Breathe and for inviting me to join the blog tour!

The Blurb

Detective Frankie Sheehan is recovering from a violent knife attack and dealing with the first awakenings of post-traumatic stress disorder when she’s called back to work. At first, Eleanor Costello’s death looks like suicide but soon the perfect pieces of Eleanor’s life begin to fracture, sending Sheehan and her team into a complex murder investigation for Dublin’s deadliest killer. The case deepens as does the body count and Frankie is forced to confront her own demons as the lines between victim and killer become increasingly blurred.

Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn, Too Close to Breathe is a claustrophobic crime thriller that will keep you gripped and leave you gasping.

What Did I Think?

“Nothing’s a coincidence”

I saw this book advertised some months ago and fell in love with the cover – it’s such a striking yet simple cover to greet you on the bookshelf.  So I knew I needed to read this book when it came out.

I have to admit, I struggled a bit with the first half of the book; I can’t quite put my finger on why though. But then suddenly out of nowhere, I was hooked.  I didn’t want to let the book go, reading late into the night or to the last possible moment before I had to get out the car to go to work. I was desperate to find out who was the killer. The tension grabbed me and would not let me go!

As the story went on, I warmed to Frankie.  To begin with, I questioned her capabilities. She’s struggling to return to work after a serious attack on the job.  She’s trying to slip back into the job whilst coping with the onset of PTSD, the looming court case arising from her attack not to mention the concern from her work colleagues.  This girl has a lot on her plate to deal with. But she’s got that killer instinct and doesn’t like to give up on a case.

Overall I did enjoy Too Close To Breathe and I’ll be looking out for The Killer In Me when it is released next year!

Don’t forget to catch all the other stops on the blog tour!

Blogtour post amended

Who Is Olivia Kiernan?

Author pic

Olivia Kiernan is an Irish writer living in the UK and author of crime thriller, Too Close to Breathe. She was born and raised in County Meath, near the famed heritage town of Kells and holds an MA in Creative Writing awarded by the University of Sussex. Olivia’s second book, The Killer In Me, will publish in April 2019.

You can find out more about Olivia by visiting her website at www.oliviakiernan.com
Follow Olivia on twitter @LivKiernan
Join in the conversation using #TooCloseToBreathe

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Too Close To Breathe by Olivia Kiernan @LivKiernan @riverrunbooks @annecater #blogtour #randomthingstours #review #TooCloseToBreathe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s